2018 Independent Spirit Award Winners


The 33rd Independent Spirit Awards were handed out in Santa Monica on Saturday afternoon and they will once again fuel speculation heading into the Academy Awards tomorrow night. Get Out and Jordan Peele came away with the Best Feature and Best Director respectively, which is a big deal considering that for the past four years the winner of the Spirit Awards went on to take Best Picture at the Oscars. However, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri and The Shape of Water were not nominated at the Spirit Awards so it is difficult to say what that really means. Frances McDormand did win Best Female Lead, however, while Sam Rockwell also won Best Supporting Male. Meanwhile, Greta Gerwig took home Best Screenplay for Lady Bird. Could we see some major upsets tomorrow night? Check out the full list of Spirit Award nominees and winners after the jump.

Best Feature

  • “Call Me by Your Name”
  • “The Florida Project”
  • “Get Out”
  • “Lady Bird”
  • “The Rider”

Best Director

  • Jonas Carpignano, “A Ciambra”
  • Luca Guadagnino, “Call Me by Your Name”
  • Jordan Peele, “Get Out”
  • Benny and Josh Safdie, “Good Time”
  • Chloé Zhao, “The Rider”

Best First Feature

  • “Columbus”
  • “Ingrid Goes West”
  • “Menashe”
  • “Oh Lucy”
  • “Patti Cake$”

Best Female Lead

  • Salma Hayek, “Beatriz at Dinner”
  • Frances McDormand, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
  • Margot Robbie, “I, Tonya”
  • Saoirse Ronan, “Lady Bird”
  • Shinobu Terajima, “Oh Lucy”
  • Regina Williams, “Life and Nothing More”

Best Male Lead

  • Timothee Chalamet, “Call Me by Your Name”
  • Harris Dickinson, “Beach Rats”
  • James Franco, “The Disaster Artist”
  • Daniel Kaluuya, “Get Out”
  • Robert Pattinson, “Good Time”

Best Supporting Female

  • Holly Hunter, “The Big Sick”
  • Allison Janney, “I, Tonya”
  • Laurie Metcalf, “Lady Bird”
  • Lois Smith, “Marjorie Prime”
  • Taliah Lennice Webster, “Good Time”

Best Supporting Male

  • Nnamdi Asomugha, “Crown Heights”
  • Armie Hammer, “Call Me by Your Name”
  • Barry Keoghan, “The Killing of a Sacred Deer”
  • Sam Rockwell, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
  • Bennie Safdie, “Good Time”

Best Screenplay

  • “Lady Bird”
  • “The Lovers”
  • “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
  • “Get Out”
  • “Beatriz at Dinner”

Best First Screenplay

  • “Donald Cried”
  • “The Big Sick”
  • “Women Who Kill”
  • “Columbus”
  • “Ingrid Goes West”

Best Cinematography

  • “The Killing of a Sacred Deer”
  • “Columbus”
  • “Beach Rats”
  • “Call Me by Your Name”
  • “The Rider”

Best Editing

  • “Good Time”
  • “Call Me by Your Name”
  • “The Rider”
  • “Get Out”
  • “I, Tonya”

John Cassavetes Award

  • “A Ghost Story”
  • “Dayveon”
  • “Life and Nothing More”
  • “Most Beautiful Island”
  • “The Transfiguration”

Robert Altman Award

  • “Mudbound”

Best Documentary

  • “The Departure”
  • “Faces Places”
  • “Last Men in Aleppo”
  • “Motherland”
  • “Quest”

Best International Film

  • “A Fantastic Woman”
  • “BPM”
  • “Lady Macbeth”
  • “I Am Not a Witch”
  • “Loveless”

Piaget Producers Award

  • Giulia Caruso & Ki Jin Kim
  • Ben LeClair
  • Summer Shelton

Annual Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award

  • Amman Abassi, “Dayveon”
  • Justin Chon, “Gook”
  • Kevin Phillips, Director of “Super Dark Times”

Truer Than Fiction Award

  • Shevaun Mizrahi, “Distant Constellation”
  • Jonathan Olshefski, “Quest”
  • Jeff Unay, “Cage Figher”

Annual Bonnie Award

  • So Young Kim
  • Chloe Zhao
  • Lynn Shelton

  • Tommy

    I wish Ben Safdie would have won the one supporting actor nomination he got in a major ceremony (according to the Good Times wiki.)
    Ah well. He’s probably chuffed just to be up there.