Wes Anderson Officially Announces Stop Motion Film Isle of Dogs


Update: Fox Searchlight has also just announced that they have acquired the worldwide rights to the film.

Last year we started hearing reports that Wes Anderson would likely be returning to stop motion animation for his next movie. We didn’t know much about it aside from the fact that it revolved around dogs, but now just over a year later he has officially announced the movie and revealed the cast. It is called Isle of Dogs and the movie will feature the voices of Ed Norton, Bill Murray, Jeff Goldblum, Bob Balaban, Scarlett Johansson, Bryan Cranston, F. Murray Abraham, Tilda Swinton, Greta Gerwig, Frances McDormand, Liev Schreiber, Kunichi Nomura, Akira Ito, Akira Takayama, Koyu Rankin, Yoko Ono, and Courtney B. Vance. He is also holding a contest to win a trip to London to tour the set and voice a dog in the film (among other things) with proceeds going to Martin Scorsese’s Film Foundation (for more info visit Crowdrise). Are you excited for another animated Wes Anderson movie? Isle of Dogs is expected to hit theatres sometime in 2018; check out the announcement video and some concept art after the jump and let us know what you think.


Around the Web: